The video covers new personalization options, deeper SkyDrive integration, improved search capabilities, Lock Screen photo slideshow, and more. One thing that’s not highlighted in the video is the Start button that will be included in the new version. But if you watch closely, you can see it during the demonstration.

Windows 8.1 will be a free upgrade for existing Windows 8 users, and the Preview version will be launch on June 26th to early adopters during Microsoft’s BUILD conference.

I could not see a single “improvement” on that video that was even remotely interesting as I, like most it seems, use my computers in desktop mode. Metro is completely useless to me for work but adds some useful diversions. Interestingly every member of the public who uses our computers gets a quick demonstration on the Metro interface then they always say “How do I get back to the proper computer?”. None of them want to spend any time on it and several think it is there for the kids. Looking at it I am not sure I can argue with that. For me its nice to have but it is not and never will be a necessity. The bottom line on this is what real improvements does Windows 8.1 bring to Windows 8 that Classic Start Menu etc haven’t already done a better job of? Comment Name * Email *

Δ  Save my name and email and send me emails as new comments are made to this post.

Microsoft Video Shows Off New Windows 8 1 Features - 62Microsoft Video Shows Off New Windows 8 1 Features - 5